Department Structure

The structural components of the Baytown Police Department in hierarchical order are:

  1. Bureau
  2. Division
  3. Unit

The police chief may reorganize the structure as needed to accomplish the goals of the Police Department.


A bureau is a major component under which generally related areas of functions are grouped and performed.    The four bureaus of the Baytown Police Department are the Administration, Logistics Bureau, Operations Bureau, and the Planning Bureau

The Administrative Bureau is commanded by the police chief.   The Community Service, Patrol, and Support Services bureaus are currently commanded by the Assistant Chiefs.   In the absence of a Bureau Commander, the police chief will designate a bureau commander.   A bureau commander is the highest ranking officer who commands or controls a bureau.


A division is a smaller component within a bureau, having more specific areas of function.  A division is currently commanded by a police lieutenant, but may be commanded by a higher-ranking person.  Divisions may contain units.  Authorized divisions include:

  • Criminal Investigations Division;
  • Internal Affairs Division;
  • Jail/Detention Division;
  • Records Division;
  • Training Division;

A division Lieutenant is the highest-ranking person who commands or controls a division. Some divisions may have the same commander.


A unit is a smaller component of a division whose members perform a very specific and separate function within the division.  A unit is normally commanded by a police sergeant or a civilian equivalent.  A unit commander is the highest-ranking person who commands or controls a unit.  Authorized units include:

  • Canine Unit
  • Crime Prevention Unit
  • Crime Scene Unit
  • Street Crimes Unit
  • Property Room